Halloween-errific

Sneak preview of Asda Halloween stock 2011

Asda Halloween monstervilleThe Asda Halloweeen 2011 stock is finally being placed on Asda shelves up and down the country, and ahead of the full launch early next week, we have a little sneak preview of some of the products that you’ll be able to buy.

Along with the usual costumes, decorations and tableware (at great low prices) this year’s Asda Halloween collection contains a fair amount of fun toys and props to keep party guests entertained. There are plenty of skulls, spiders, ghosts and ghouls to choose from.

Asda Halloween products for 2011

Gargoyle Fountain

First up is the Gargoyle Fountain. Similar to the ‘rolling eyeball Asda Halloween gargoyle fountainskull fountain’ that we covered a couple of years back, this nasty looking fellow is battery operated and after filling him with water and blood red food colouring he comes alive when activated by movement or sound. The ‘blood’ pours from his mouth and into the bowl in his stony claws, giving any Halloween party a gothic feel and bloody water feature. Just hang him on the wall somewhere and he’s sure to impress. He comes in at a reasonable price too, just £15.

Fancy Witches Hat

Our next new Asda Halloween product is this funky looking witches hat. Rather fetching though it is, with orange and black stripes and a nice bell dangling on top, there is more to this enchanted head-piece.
Once on your head (or someone elses) simply press the discreet button and the hat plays a tune and twitches in time to the music – making it look as if you’ve got some kind of party going on in your head.

Asda Halloween fancy witches hat

Enchanted Objects

Next up are two similar products that are equally entertaining.

The Enchanted Broom, once activated will prance and dance around the room as if by magic and all accompanied by a jolly Halloween tune. Similarly the Wandering Ghost will whirl around the place making sounds and generally causing a few jumps and giggles. Both are a reasonable height (2-3 feet high) and are easily assembled.
At £15 each, they offer a decent prop at reasonable value. Whether or not the music will prove too much for your Halloween party guests is yet to be seen.

Asda Halloween enchanted broom Asda Halloween wandering ghost

Ear Flapping Dog

There’s always something a bit cute for the younger Halloweeners and this year is no exception. This cute little battery powered puppy is dressed in full witch attire and looks ready to accompany any kids on trick or treating tips. When a button his pressed it sings and moves with its little ears flapping eagerly to some festive music. His little bag can even be used to carry sweets.
You’d be barking mad not to want one! (sorry)

Asda Halloween ear flapping dog

Zombie Baby

If you want something a little more disturbing how about Asda Halloween zombie babya zombie baby to place in a dark corner somewhere? Although this little guy doesn’t do much, his evil glare and horrible green skin with give any unsuspecting party guest a fright. At just £5, he’s a great way to add a more menacing atmosphere to your Halloween gathering.

Giant Inflatable Pumpkin

If you’re not much good at carving pumpkins, then this inflatable one could be the perfect solution. Once inflated, this bright orange jack-o-lantern is an impressive 4ft tall. There’s a similar inflatable ghost (if inflatables are your thing) and both would make great outdoor decorations. However, the £25 price tag may put people off.

Asda Halloween inflatable pumpkin

Whilhemina the Witch

Finally, do you remember Wanda the Witch last year? Asda Halloween Whilhamena witchShe was a life-sized animatronic spell caster that proved to be hugely popular causing scares a plenty.
Well this year there’s a new witch on the block (no doubt related in some way) Whilhemina the Witch to be precise. Although a lot smaller than last year’s offering, Whilhemina looks very impressive with her realistc latex skin, haunting eyes and knarled hands. Clasped tightly between her fingers is a large bowl that you can fill with treat and snacks. When a hungry reveller or trick or treater takes something from the bowl however, they’re likely to get a shock as the little witch cackles and chatters with her little crinkled chin wagging about.

Her smaller size also means a saving in cost – at £45 she’s around half the price of last year’s witch. This means that you don’t need to break the bank to have your own animated Asda Halloween hag at your party.

If that didn’t get your interest, why not check out these videos of some of this years Halloween products:

Yet more Asda Halloween stuff

There’s only so much that you can fit into one sneak preview post, so here’s some images of yet more Asda Halloween items you can expect to see on your shelves over the next couple of weeks.

Asda skull mask Asda bat lights Halloween Frankenstein banner
Asda champagne glasses Asda window clings Asda zombie mask

Make sure you get down do your local Asda store to check them out, or if you don’t have one locally, why not shop from the comfort of your home?

We’ll be following up our Asda coverage with yet another entertaining video rating our favourite tried and tested Halloween products. So keep an eye on Halloweenerrific for yet more Asda Halloween news!

We now have a new Asda Halloween hub area.

Like this Article? Share it!

About The Author

Mr Halloween is the founder of Halloweenerrific. He lives for Halloween and pretty much spends the whole year in a perpetual Halloween, preparing for that all important night when everyone else celebrates it too. He loves cobwebs, skeletons and UV lights. He hates cheap, poorly made Halloween products.

19 Comments

  1. Sue September 28, 2011 at 9:09 am

    Excellent post. I can’t wait to check out the Asda Halloween stuff this year!

  2. Bately September 28, 2011 at 10:47 am

    I’ve been dying for this post since August, glad it’s here now 😀

    – – –

    I’m disappointed that there’s no life size prop but Wilhelmina isn’t too bad. I think I prefer Sainsburys offering of a 3ft butler. However the lack of “big prop” seems to have given us a few more item in the £15 range. (Which is great considering the current climate). I”ll definitely buy the fountain, maybe the ghost and broom too depending on how they work/look.

    I say I’ll buy one thing but I bet I end up with it all (as I did last year) lol.

    Thank you for posting!!

  3. Mr Halloween September 28, 2011 at 1:39 pm

    Glad you like it Bately! Sorry for the delay, but Asda are very secretive about these things until the last minute!

    It does seem a shame that there aren’t any big props this time around, but we can only hope that there will be plenty more stuff in store when it’s finally all wheeled out…

    The Sainsbury’s butler does look pretty cool! 🙂

  4. Bately September 29, 2011 at 7:42 pm

    I understand, I guess their delay does make the Halloween build up for exciting.

    I bought an Enchanted Broom from Wilkisons today for £10. There’s a video of one on YouTube of it working, rather cool. I guess it will be the same one as Asda’s as it has £15 on the box. There was only 2 left, apparently they had a shelf full. (That’s great to hear, hopefully they’ll stock even more novelty props are great prices next year too!)

    My 700w fog machine (£34.99) and 5L of fluid (£11.99) came today, which I’m excited to use this Halloween! I bought some Graveyard scent for it via eBay for £4.99.

  5. Mr Halloween September 29, 2011 at 7:48 pm

    Halloween scent?!! What is that going to smell like exactly?
    Sounds horrible, and also very cool.
    A smoke machine has been on my wants list for some time now. Might just have to splash out this year.
    Perhaps I’ll find a Halloweeny one somewhere…

  6. Bately September 29, 2011 at 8:43 pm

    Oh yes the novelty ones look amazing, but as per usual only in the great old USA ;p.

    The Graveyard scent is 30ml and you mix it with 5L of fog juice. It’s an unusual smell.. to be honest to me it smells like eucalyptus mixed with incense and red bull energy drink, maybe it’ll smell different once it’s mixed. They have other scents like Apple Bobbin, Pumpkin etc but the Graveyard one was cheaper lol (£4.99 on eBay).

    It does feel as waste paying out for a machine for one night unlike props that you can have out for most of October (well I do). But they do crate an amazing atmosphere! (plus it can be used on Christmas too, I guess).

  7. swanny September 30, 2011 at 6:42 am

    Please please Please Asda wont you consider selling a simular if not same range as you do in wallmart usa. Every year I look out for something bigger and better and although you guys come up trumps every year it would be great if you stocked the inflatable animatronic coffin and arches wallmart sell in the states. 🙂

  8. Sue September 30, 2011 at 10:50 am

    I love the sound of Apple Bobbin scent for my fogger.
    I’m also in the market for a big prop this year. I wonder why Asda has decided not to have one this year.
    Is the full stock in the shops yet?

  9. Batley September 30, 2011 at 4:57 pm

    @Sue It’s expensive but you can find it on eBay for £7.29 (free postage), search “Apple Bobbing Scent Effects Smoke Machine Scent 30ml” or type “Apple” in on YourSpares.co.uk and it’s £6.90 there with postage (£5.40 + £1.50 p&p).

    Asda now have the Halloween online (Not complete I don’t think), The Zombie Baby is £15. Still cheaper to other sites, I guess.

    I love the inflatable cat, not keen on the price tag of £35 though. Hopefully the rest will be added soon as my local Asda is small and won’t stock much :(.

    On the note of inflatable I wish I bought that horse and cart you posted here earlier this year, it was a bargain too.

    Not long now! Plus Merlin starts tomorrow on BBC1 (To me a must have in the run up to Halloween).

  10. Hedwig October 1, 2011 at 8:52 pm

    Im so glad i got the wanda witch from asda last year she really is a brilliant prop i thought she might be back again this year as the butler was back for about 3 years running but mabe one day they will bring the life size witch with smoking cauldron to us she is also made by Jemmy who make butler and wanda there is a few vids of her on you tube she is brilliant but i cant wait to check out this years asda props i will keep you posted on my purchases.

  11. Hedwig October 2, 2011 at 12:02 am

    Im so glad i got wanda witch from asda last year she is a superb addition to my Halloween collection im surprised she isn’t included in the line up this year the butler was on sale for 3 years running,
    I hope one year soon they bring the life size witch with smoking cauldron to our asda she is amazing she is made by Gemmy the same as wanda and the butler but in the mean time im off to look at this years props in asda cant wait to see what they have.

  12. Curlypoppet October 2, 2011 at 1:54 pm

    Wow glad your back!!I am a massive fan of Asda’s Halloween range,but would also love to see more animated large props like the ones in Walmart.Anyway,i have Wanda and the butler who is knwon as Egor in our house,both excellent props.I went to Asda before and purchased the Enchnated broom and i have to say i am thrilled with it,for £15 it’s fantastic value,and it’s afir size too.Wasn’t that impressed by the look of the new witch judging by the box,they didn’t have one on show for me to check out.All in all,Asda has some good stuff this year,no giant rats to be seen but the usual goblets,table covers,outfits and webs.

  13. Mr Halloween October 4, 2011 at 8:29 am

    Thank you! We’re glad to be back!
    I popped to our local branch yesterday hoping to see the full range on the shelves, but it seems that it was still being put out – only one full isle of stuff. So that was disappointing.
    Although they don’t have giant rats, they do have big crows that are pretty cool.

    It’s pretty clear from all of the comments so far that a life-sized prop has been quite missed this year.
    My tip if you want something big would be the 9ft inflatable ghost. I’ll get it added to the post above as it looks excellent!

  14. Carole Hennessy October 7, 2011 at 9:14 pm

    Hi there, I’m desperate to get a witch, just wondering if there is any way to get one in Ireland????

  15. Piskyboo October 11, 2011 at 12:53 pm

    We are also fans of Asda’s Halloween range and like others posting on here were a little disappointed with the lack of larger props this year. Fortunately we managed to pick up Wanda the witch on ebay (and didnt pay a fortune for her either). We have been hunting around all the shops and I must say this year isnt a stellar year for props, in any of the shops….. maybe we’re just picky!!

  16. Mr Halloween October 11, 2011 at 1:12 pm

    I guess that ebay would probably be the best way to get a witch in Ireland too (as per Carole’s message). I’m not sure if Asda will deliver to Ireland, and even if they will, Whilhemena has been out of stock each time I’ve looked.
    Also, it has to be said, she isn’t a patch on Wanda – even if she is more economical and space efficient.

    We’ll have another post up very shortly with more Asda info, including us trying out the 4ft Inflatable ghost which is pretty good!

    I agree though, a little disappointing generally this year. More people are doing Halloween things, but there isn’t as much exciting stock to choose from…

  17. Curlypoppet October 11, 2011 at 10:23 pm

    I’ve been back to Asda and already they seem to be condensing the stock they have ,to make way for Christmas perhaps?Anyway,wanted the giant crows but sold out,and there were no witches either,not that i would have bought one,i really was disappointed when i finally got to see one out of the box,the face is not bad but she isn’t a patch on Wanda or the butler.The butler Sainsburys are offering is a much better option ,although he is small,and you can see the voice box and mechanism in his mouth when he talks.I agree that the choice this year isn’t as good as previous years,shame as Halloween is so popular now.

  18. Hedwig October 28, 2011 at 9:15 pm

    Has anyone noticed that asda started reducing the price of their Halloween stock much earlier this year not that im complaining as it means you can save money on items before the time comes but i was just wondering why so many reductions so soon they are usually on reduction right after Halloween i have never known reductions so soon before the actual event.

  19. Tom October 28, 2011 at 10:01 pm

    That’s a great reason to go this weekend then! Although it’ll probably be mental.
    I guess they’re scared that they’ll end up with a load of leftovers otherwise.
    Does show that it pays to wait…

Leave A Response

Leave a comment


SEO Powered By SEOPressor