Halloween-errific

Asda Halloween 2016 Sneak Preview

Another year, another sneak preview Asda Halloween 2016of the Asda Halloween 2016 range!

Last year many of us had trouble picking up the most desirable products that Asda had on offer, and it seemed that there was a big variation on the quality and quantity of goods depending on which store you visited.

In 2016 hopes are high that Asda will reclaim the reputation of being the number one UK supermarket for Halloween wares and that they will have all sorts of horrible treats to scare and delight us in equal measure.

Asda Halloween 2016 Sneak Preview

So far we have some early scraps of information to tease you with. It might not seem lot at first, but as Halloween 2016 approaches, we’ll add more content to this post, filling it with more images, further information and hopefully some video footage of the products that you’ll be able to find at your local Asda store.

Halloween props

Asda’s Halloween props always prove popular, particularly when they are big, fun and preferably battery/mains operated!

At the time of writing, we don’t have any info on the bigger props and show stopping inflatables. But we can give you an idea of what smaller items you can expect to see.

Halloween props

The spooky telephone is back for a third year and I’m hoping to finally get my hands on one. For two years I’ve been left disappointed, after missing out on them. They really do appear to be one of the most popular Halloween items Asda stocks.

The eyeball doorbell also looks like a fun item, giving your trick-or-treaters a scare when they come knocking. And the Skellie-rina music box will be a super creepy trinket to sit in the corner of your room. Lets hope that it’s motion sensitive or starts to play by itself at unexpected times to spook your guests.

Halloween props

As always there are lots of things to dangle about your homestead, and which you choose to opt for – glam, grotesque or cute – depends on the kind of audience that you’re catering for. The big Reaper is worth noting because of its size. At over 1.8 meters it’s the perfect item to cast an intimidating shadow in dark corners. But coming in at £60, this potential buyer would need to get up close to judge the quality of it before shelling out.

Halloween props

If you’re a fan of Halloween props of the singing/dancing variety you’ll have a few to choose from this year with the Singing and dancing skull and Skeleton twins promising some light-hearted entertainment.

The Zombie Parrot also has potential depending on the size of it. Going on the strength of these first items it looks like a it’ll be easy to put together a gothic theme in your home, with more dark items than carnival colours (as seen in last year’s selection).

Ghastly Halloween garlands

Garlands are a great way to transform a room and can hang over doorways and open spaces (both inside and out) to create an atmosphere.

Halloween garlands

The giant black spider is the stand-out item in this bunch of Halloween garlands. It’s hard to tell from the photo, but it looks to be a big improvement on the cardboard/paper giant spider that I picked up last year for the garden. This eight legged menace looks far more chunky and will transform a room if hung from the ceiling or over a door. Arachnophobes beware!

If you want something with a bit of class the rose garland looks like a steal at £4, but you may well need a few of them if you want them to be noticed.

Halloween garlands

If you want a garland to brighten up the room, you could choose the colourful Mexican ‘day of the dead’ style skulls, go bold with the shimmering black and gold, or opt for something different entirely with some pumpkin lights (we’re hoping to see more of what will be on offer where lighting is concerned very soon).

Halloween cakes

We’re yet to get much detail on the Halloween themed food that you’ll be able to get in Asda stores this year. What we can show you is a couple of cute cakes that will be on sale.

Halloween cakes

These cartoon style cakes are simple in style and will probably be best placed at a children’s party as opposed to an adult one. Both will make a great centre-piece for your Halloween spread and we can only hope that the ‘pumpkin smash‘ cake has some treats lurking inside and you’ll need to break it open to get to them.

Halloween costumes

In recent years there’s one thing that Asda hasn’t failed to deliver on and that’s a great choice of Halloween costumes at reasonable prices.

Halloween costumes

Looking through the initial images it looks like the usual suspects will be there again, with a ‘Frankie’ costume, vampire and even the odd cute toddler outfit.

But looking through the selection, one new fun addition jumps out – a Ghostbusters costume complete with proton pack. It’s unlikely that you’ll be mistaken for Peter Venkman when wearing it but it still looks great fun with added slime patches for effect. And although you will be paying a premium for this officially licensed product, you should get a good level of quality in return, meaning that this costume will see you busting ghosts in style for years to come.

Halloween costumes

There are a few items of headwear that will attract your attention too.

Halloween headbands

With a good, varied collection of headbands lined up those of you with flowing locks will be spoilt for choice. These items will be essential for anyone that will be braving the outdoors on Halloween. Those pesky witches hats have a tendency to get caught by the wind and take off. A witches hat headband will overcome this problem.

The light-up pigtails look like the perfect choice for anyone wanting to stand out from the crowd.

Elegant Halloween

And if you want something truly elegant, these reasonably priced accessories could be just the thing that you’re after. The perfect accompaniment if you’re attending a macabre ball or mystery masquerade.

Updates

That’s all the news that we have for the time being. We will update this post over the coming weeks with more news and sneak peeks, including bigger items and details on when you can expect to see these items in store. If you spot any of the Asda Halloween 2016 range in your local Asda, be sure to let us know.

Like this Article? Share it!

About The Author

Mr Halloween is the founder of Halloweenerrific. He lives for Halloween and pretty much spends the whole year in a perpetual Halloween, preparing for that all important night when everyone else celebrates it too. He loves cobwebs, skeletons and UV lights. He hates cheap, poorly made Halloween products.

55 Comments

  1. Dan August 29, 2016 at 9:57 am

    Asda have a lifesized?!?! HORAY

  2. Dan August 29, 2016 at 10:07 am

    @mrhalloween, is there a halloweeneriffic forum? If there isn’t that would be a very good idea so all of the uk hunters can inform each other on products and shops to look out for

  3. Batley August 29, 2016 at 2:05 pm

    I haven’t bought anything from ASDA the past few years but I do regret not buying the eye doorbell last year, so pleased it has returned.

    The Reaper looks fantastic, the price is steep but probably worth it depending on any animation/ up close look.

    Those are on my wish list :-).

    The Range do a variety of decent sized and animated props, so worth looking if you have a local. They usually have a lot more than they do online. I am most excited for the stock. Also, B&M is a big player in Halloween decorations, too.

    Also expecting a prop from Wilko. Aldi will have airblown inflatable characters again this year.

    Shaping up to be one of the best Halloweens for a variety of props available.

  4. Mr Halloween August 30, 2016 at 12:12 pm

    Dan> We would love to have a forum on the site. We’ll keep our fingers crossed that the web fairies will grant us that wish this year!

    Batley> We will definitely have to cover B&M this year as we haven’t yet managed to do this (which is a real shame).
    Keep an eye on the site for updates on that…

  5. mandy September 2, 2016 at 3:26 pm

    The Range have started putting their stuff out and TK Maxx too

  6. mandy September 2, 2016 at 3:36 pm

    I emailed poundland customer services they said stuff should be in store by mid september. It says on their website Bigger choice and better quality items available this year, so hopefully we will be able to get cool stuff like people show on Youtube from their Dollar Tree Halloween Hauls

  7. Louise September 3, 2016 at 4:49 pm

    The range has some good big props. Lifesize butler holding a bowl moves it’s head, eyes flash and creepy moaning noise. Lifesize witches (different from previous years witch) and a tree man who looks cool but couldn’t check out what he did. Also skeleton cat that screeches. Regular large hanging items with sounds, movement and lights. Cool skull vase with moving roses and music. Large shaking coffin and a big haunted window too.

    B&m have a sensor mat to put under front door mat that makes creepy noises and speaks. It goes off when someone stands on the mat- brilliant for £4.99!

  8. Dan September 3, 2016 at 10:12 pm

    Well then, Wilson have a life size 6ft animated reaper for £50 and a 3ft heads up character for £40, I CAN’T WAIT FOR THEM TO COME TO STORE

  9. Dan September 3, 2016 at 10:14 pm

    Wilko’s*

  10. Haunted Skull September 6, 2016 at 12:06 pm

    My Top 5 Shops so far are

    1. Wilko
    2. ASDA
    3.The Range
    4. B&M
    5.Costco

    I think it is the best year ever for Halloween because asda has redeemed themselves for the crap that they have been giving us (especially 2014) this year they gave us a life size reaper. Wilko are amazing this year because they have brought heads up harry back but into a zombie (I am definitely getting him!) , they have brought the clock back, they have a 6ft reaper which i am getting and a great variety of animated props and inflatables. B&M are amazing (they always are), costco is great and the Range is awesome! i also have had a lot of luck on other props like i have got the Phantom Face Ripper, Skeleton Bride & Groom, Heads up Harry Jr. and the Creepy Rising Doll.

  11. Joseph September 10, 2016 at 3:01 pm

    Just picked up an animated clock from wilko, as I missed out last year…they sold out early. Hopefully asda get some good gemmy produces in this year.

  12. Ella September 11, 2016 at 4:38 pm

    Poundland put out some of it Halloween stuff! ??

  13. donna mayes September 12, 2016 at 1:14 pm

    cant wait for this years halloween

  14. dan September 12, 2016 at 8:11 pm

    just ordered the 6ft reaper to my local wilko store, it looks really good in the shop but they couldn’t sell it because apparently its a display model and its only to show what stock they will be getting this year, rather then being able to actually being able to buy it (bit stupid in my opinion but such its life). Also a guy by the name of grave raver has just uploaded a video of it in action, i strongly suggest you check it out, the kid really does post some quality content and store walk-throughs and the like, also quick question, has anyone seen what the new asda reaper does, maybe its a prop that was seen in another shop in the states? anyway, overall really looking forward to the different ranges that the shops will have to offer this year, finally these shops are catering to the enthusiasts again.

  15. Haunted Skull September 13, 2016 at 4:37 pm

    Hi every one i just called asda and they said that they are getting the halloween stuff in at the end of september. Also does anyone have a video of the reaper?

  16. Dan September 13, 2016 at 4:51 pm

    Just got the wilco reaper, and I’ve got to say, Asda will have to have a very god reaper to beat this one, the inner frame is very similar to the ones that seasonal vision props use, with it being mostly made of aluminium poles so that they won’t break, the head is quite a bit bigger than I thought it would be and the sound is not tinny at all, you can hear it very well, the costume is quite well made, with the hood around the face being poseable, the base is also made of aluminium, which is also very similar to the seasonal visions props, the sensor on its chest is very sensitive and it works to a good distance, it also has a bobble head so when he talks his head bobbles too, all round very impressed with this prop and would give it a 5 out of 5 stars, this prop is also made by magic power co, if anyone was wondering

  17. Dan September 13, 2016 at 4:52 pm

    Wilko*

  18. Haunted Skull September 16, 2016 at 10:57 pm

    I have found a video of the reaper in action: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HSrQ3PZI-xA
    Hope this helps. I am definitely picking this up!

  19. Haunted Skull September 17, 2016 at 9:36 pm

    Today i have picked up the heads up zombie and i am really impressed with him. The quality is awesome, the sounds are very realistic, the lights are bright and he looks similar to heads up harry in some ways e.g. the suit. i would recommend him to anyone who likes the heads up props or anyone who wants to do a haunted house this year.

  20. Dan September 22, 2016 at 5:36 am

    hey guys ill leave a link to my youtube channel I do reviews of Halloween items and have taken a look at some new lights

  21. Dan September 22, 2016 at 2:51 pm

    @mrhalloween, I think we need some accounts on this site, as people will get people of the same name mixed up

  22. Steph September 23, 2016 at 10:42 am

    Just watched your video Dan, the phone in Wilko is terrible, very mechanical sounding… I could barely make out what it was saying because all you can hear is the knocking of its jaw…possibly could be improved with a bit of rubber where it knocks. The Wilko clock is amazing and well worth the £40, we bought that and the reaper which I’m also very impressed with, I love what it says and the skull is quite realistic. Saw a video of the Asda reaper and that sounded quite knock-y too and skull didn’t look as good. Just waiting on Asda getting there stuff then my shopping is about done…it’s my sons birthday on the 28th oct so we have Halloween/bday party 🙂 X

  23. Dan September 24, 2016 at 4:43 pm

    hi steph thanks for the info on it all gotta say not that impressed with the life sizes this year but just wanted to let you know asda will be getting out their stuff between Monday and wednesday!

  24. Joseph Strachan September 25, 2016 at 8:31 pm

    I hope they can bring back the man in chains again or have a whole re theme with the mascots again I liked the asda family theme (2002-2005) it really felt like a haunted house. Last year was more based on children than scary props like the butler.

  25. Dan September 27, 2016 at 3:36 pm

    Right ok, just went to ads a and may I say, wow this year is going to be great, not only do we have the 72inc tall reaper this year which I’ll get on to in a minute, they also have a 3ft standing singing version of banjo steve from 2013 with a mic and jazz clothes for only £30, and a big mouth billy bones for £10, along with all of the things that have been mentioned in the post.

    Now asda reaper for this year is really really good, as it not only moves his jaw, he also has a mechanism which allows him to turn his head and move his arms, his speech is very loud ( slightly louder than the wilko reaper ) and light up eyes and lantern. He is built out of aluminium with an almost identical build to the wilko reaper (if not slightly better ) yet the wilko one wins on the face I think that is is a very close call with the 2 lifesizes, and he is £60 not £50

    Will be uploading a video soon to compare both the reapers on my youtube channel which I will link when I upload it

  26. Kirstie September 28, 2016 at 6:43 am

    I wish Asda would hurry up getting their halloween stuff out! I’m excited to see it all! Does anyone know when the range have theirs out?

  27. Dan September 28, 2016 at 7:36 am

    @kirstie, Both Asda and the range have their Halloween section out already

  28. Laws September 28, 2016 at 11:56 am

    P.s- Regarding the Atmosfear projections, to clarify, you need a projector to hook up to a laptop or DVD player (or tablet if you download from their site I think?) to project images, if that’s what you want to do. Min 1800 lumens is recommended

  29. Steph September 28, 2016 at 12:58 pm

    The range have had their stuff for a couple of weeks now (both near me have anyway) my nearest Asda is quite a drive so I put a post on Facebook earlier asking if they’ve got their stuff before I waste fuel and lots of people said they’ve got it out now so I’m gonna go have a look 🙂 I hope shops have a decent range of food stuff near the time so I don’t have to make everything. M&S have some good Halloween food and someone told me its on offer at the minute too so I’ll look in there today as well x

  30. Frosty September 30, 2016 at 3:51 pm

    Dan can’t wait to see your video so I can decide which one to buy!!

  31. Dan September 30, 2016 at 10:06 pm
  32. Dan September 30, 2016 at 10:09 pm

    I’ll do a comparison video during the weekend

  33. Frosty October 1, 2016 at 9:53 pm

    This might duplicate previous reply. Can’t wait to see your comparison.

  34. Frosty October 2, 2016 at 1:44 pm

    Well, couldn’t wait any longer. Popped out to Asda today , got my grim reaper,a projector,flickering flight lights and a five foot skeleton!! Happy days.

  35. Dan October 2, 2016 at 2:32 pm

    @mrhalloween, can you do a top 5 asda halloween video this year, as there is so much stuff there this year.

  36. Frosty October 2, 2016 at 3:09 pm

    I agree Dan. I was really impressed with Asda this year, so made up to get a new life size as haven’t had one since Wanda years back. Going back for the eyeball door bell and a few other things then checking The Range out.

  37. Haunted Skull October 2, 2016 at 6:35 pm

    I got him yesterday and most of the animated props. i have done a review of him on youtube:
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TlfKElWuqc4

  38. Frosty October 2, 2016 at 8:11 pm

    Fab Haunted skull. Can I ask, does your reaper have s hole in his lower jaw? Mine does and I know it’s not a motion sensor. Pretty peed off if it’s a fault because I got the last one out of the four stores I tried.

  39. Dam October 3, 2016 at 7:38 am

    @frosty, it’s just part of the manufacturing process, mine has it too

  40. Haunted Skull October 3, 2016 at 4:22 pm

    @frosty mine has it too but its nothing to worry about 🙂

  41. Haunted Skull October 15, 2016 at 3:43 pm

    i have also picked up the 3ft soulful skeleton and most of the animated props

  42. Frosty October 17, 2016 at 2:41 pm

    Gone very quiet on here guys! Come on share your buys. I went to the Range yesterday and bought the shaking coffin, a wailing ghost with chains, a light up spirit ball and a motor that spins a prop round. Impressed with them all!

  43. Dan October 18, 2016 at 6:27 pm

    Ok then @frosty if I must
    This year I have picked up
    Rising swamp hag from madabouthorror.co.uk (seasonal visions)

    Lanky witch from halloweenhorrorprops.com (seasonal visions)

    the stichwick sisters from costco (seasonal visions)

    The 6ft reaper from asda (pan asian creations)

    The 6ft reaper from wilko (magic power co.)

    2x talking trees from the range (premier decorations)

    3ft dancing skeleton from asda (magic power co.)

    4 of the pose and stay pirate skeletons from costco (seasons)

    The heads up zombie from wilko (magic power co.)

    Swamp witch from the range (premier decorations)

    Some small bits like the animated tombstone from b&m (pan asian creations), billy bones from asda (gemmy), 2ft light up pumpkin from costco, animated carved pumpkin from b&m (magic power co. ), the window from the range (premier decorations), the animated crow from aldi (magic power) and the wilting flowers from the range (premier decorations)

  44. Dan October 23, 2016 at 1:31 pm

    I strongly suggest that everyone goes to check out morrisons, they have a 3ft pan asian skeleton butler (same sold in cvs in the us) called Barry for £30, he has like 9 phrases and his mouth moves and eyes light up, they also have a wilko reaper with a pointy top to the cloak and a tray for sweets, apart from that he’s the same as the wilko one, they also have the hip swinging skeleton that is in asda, yet closeness and he dances to another one bites the dust, I did pick up the butler and the Reaper. My asda edwardian butler came in the post as well today, best halloween lifesize in my arsenal I think, very detailed, will be uploading some videos of the stuff mentioned at a later date

  45. Frosty October 25, 2016 at 5:22 pm

    Dan,i can’t find any info on the Morrisons butler,do yu have a link?

  46. Dan October 27, 2016 at 6:16 pm

    There is no website link or anything online about it, but he’s practically the same sort of design as the butler sainsburys had years ago

  47. Frosty October 28, 2016 at 5:09 pm

    Oh I know the one. Talking of butlers, we got a smaller one from Asda a few years back now. He holds a plastic bowl and says the odd phrase. Never worked properly. I’ll stick with me six foot Egor.

  48. Haunted Skull October 29, 2016 at 12:00 pm

    Yesterday, me and my brother picked up the singing and dancing skeleton and Barry the Butler from Morrisons and they are both really good quality and the butler’s clothing is similar to asda’s 6ft butler which is really good and he has 8 phrases!

  49. Joseph October 31, 2016 at 10:28 am

    Just picked up the Asda reaper for £30 all went half price today…get ringing around guys, you might be lucky!

  50. Frosty October 31, 2016 at 11:28 pm

    Oh well,it’s all over for another year.I’m chilling out watching An American Werewolf in London after a fabulous party.Think my favourite new props are the shaking coffin,the spirit ball and the projector.Was devastated my original 6ft Asda butler from years back didn’t work this year,he’s always been our fave.Mr Halloween,you seem to have gone very quiet of late!

  51. Dan November 2, 2016 at 10:02 pm

    Just bought some of the dancing skeletons from asda for £7.50 each today, asda is at 75% off a lot of its halloween stock

  52. Haunted Skull March 18, 2017 at 8:28 pm

    Can’t wait for this year’s props! I have already started saving!

  53. Haunted Skull May 10, 2017 at 8:52 am

    I have brought some old props which were used to be at asda and they are: Man in chains (Prisoner Pete sold in 2009/2010), Donna the dead (floating ghost 2008/2010), Witch Spirit Ball (2009) and the caged skeleton by gemmy. I have also brought the skeleton twins from asda which were sold last year. I am still trying to get a Wanda Witch from 2010 and a few more 2009 props.

  54. Haunted Skull June 10, 2017 at 1:00 pm

    I have finally got my hands on a fully working wanda witch with the original box but it doesn’t have the original broom. The unboxing video is on my channel.

Leave A Response

 

UA-17710551-2 
SEO Powered By SEOPressor