Halloween-errific

Asda Halloween 2015 Sneak Preview

What is it about Asda Halloween stock that just gets us Brits so excited? Is it the variety? The price? Or the sheer amount of it?
Whatever the reason, one thing’s for sure: The day that Asda put their spooky stuff on the shelves it’s a highlight on any UK Halloween shopper’s calendar.

For a few years now, we at Halloween-errific have been bringing you the inside info on what to expect at your Asda store each Halloween. We bring sneak peaks, videos and even lists of our favourites. This year is going to work a little differently. Why? Because we missed out on some of the early news due to the tube strikes (BOO!)

Anyway, without dwelling on the bad too much, here is the Asda Halloween 2015 sneak preview post which we will build on in time as more info comes in and as we (hopefully) get videos of the coolest stuff.

Asda Halloween 2015 Sneak Preview

So what is our initial general feeling about the Asda Halloween range for 2015? Well, it’s creepy and there is A LOT of stuff.

Besides the return of some of our favourites (including last year’s wingflatables) there is a host of new stuff. And it’s pretty clear that Asda is getting bigger and bolder in its buying decisions, moving away from the budget, bargain stuff and towards some products that cost a little more, but are a big step up in terms of quality and the impact they’ll have.

As Halloween falls on a Saturday this year (yes, we keep going on about this) there are loads of decorative bits. Asda knows that we’re all going to party harder this year and they’re stocking accordingly.
Lets start with the basics…

Balloons

There is a big selection of balloons this year. These invaluable inflatables are great for parties because they fill a space in a dramatic way for little cost.
The choice is impressive, from the bulk bags of latex zombie balloons (£8.99 for 25) through to the 43″ wicked witch helium ballon (£4.99 each) and the gigantic 75″ giant air walking balloon, aka Mr Bones (£16.99 each).

zombie balloons Asda Halloween 215 Asda Halloween 2015 Spider balloon Asda wicked witch balloon asda Mr Bones Asda Halloween

Imagine the looks you’ll get if you take Mr Bones out trick or treating!

Halloween Lights

Lighting doesn’t look too exciting on the surface. We have the return of the faithful pumpkin lights (1.2 or 2.3 meters priced at £6.99 and £12.99 respectively) which should solve some of my lighting problems this year. Shame they’re both battery powered though.
But more interestingly, we also have a nice new addition in the form of the ‘Light Up Neon Ghost Prop’. These colourful spectures hang an impressive 1.5 meters and come in three colours. They strike a good balance of being eye catching whilst not terrifying and will bring a bit of colour to any Halloween set-up. The £24.99 price tag could put people off though.

Halloween pumpkin lanterns Light Up Neon Ghost Prop Asda Halloween

Props and decorations

There is a lot to get through as far as decorations are concerned this year. And there are more to come with some bigger (and more exciting?) bits still to be announced. We’ll be as selective as possible here and will add in the more exciting stuff as it comes.

Scene setters

When we say scene setters, we mean ‘large stickers and banners’. Asda have gone big on these this year as again, they’re an easy, cost effective way to transform a room. There are stickers for your toilet seats, stickers for your windows and doors and should you need to create a full Halloween scene, why not use a huge banner on a wall?

toilet topper Skeleton-Bathroom-Door-Cover-HALLDEC167 Creepy-Carnival-Scene-Setter-CCARSCEN2 giant-spider-window-silhouettes-HALLDEC244_v2

There is a big range, starting with the fun, cute stuff and going right up to the bloody stained creepy carnival stuff. So whether you’re organising a kids party or an adult shin-dig, you’ll be able to find something here to suit your mood.

Ground breakers

If you want some decoration in the garden to welcome any visitors to your haunted mansion, ground breakers are a nice touch. There are a few offerings by Asda this year, from the cute skeletons and pumpkins (£7.99) to the realistic 3D bones (£15.99).

lawn zombie groundbreaker skeletons family friendly yard signs halloween

Spooky sheets

Another item that will be on my shopping list this year is some gauze. These sheets can be draped or hung around the home and give a great effect, transforming your home into a dusty looking shack or an abandoned manor.
Sizes vary slightly and the gauze shown below costs between £5.99 and £7.99.

halloween gauze asda halloween gauze grey drape gause

Inflatables

This year we have three big inflatables to look forward to (not including the huge selection of balloons). They vary in size and price and all look great fun.
First off we have the ‘Frankenstein’ which differs slightly from last year’s (looks a bit smaller and has a different facial expression) and costs £39.99. There’s also a jolly looking inflatable skeleton that stands at the same height but costs a little more (maybe because of his fancy hat and cane?) and finally there’s a giant spider which has a 2.4 meter spread and comes in at a wallet stretching £79.99.

Asda halloween 2015 frankenstein inflatable Asda inflatable skeleton Asda Halloween inflatable spider

Someone must be buying this stuff and I do like inflatables, but I doubt that the spider will be flying off the shelves.

Life-sized props?

Well, we have to disappoint you, but surprisingly it looks like Asda may not be selling a life-sized prop as they have done previously with the butler and witches.
As far as we can tell so far, the closest you’ll get to this is one of the figures below…

hanging-woman Vampire-Skeleton-Prop-HALLDEC469 skeleton

According to our source, the skeleton will be £8, the hanging woman £7 and the vampire skeleton £19.99. It’s a bit of a let down seeing as these props are a little small and just kinda hang there.

Perhaps Asda just didn’t make enough money from the bigger props? Or perhaps they still have a surprise up their sleeve. We shall see!

Asda Halloween 2015 Make-up

There is a bunch of great stuff available this year in the make-up department, but perhaps the main thing to look out for in 2015 is the gruesome special effects style pieces.
You may want to close your eyes for a bit if you’re squeamish!

These sets will give a really impressive finish to any Halloween costume and are the kind of thing that you’d expect to see used in films or on TV. You will need some level of skill and some other make-up to get great results, integrating the parts with your own skin tone and such. But if you’re up for the challenge, you’ll have great fun freaking out your friends with these fleshy looking features. These sets cost between £3.49 and £18.99.

broken-bone-wound-BODY080 Zombie makeup asda horns makeup cut throat halloween makup

Wondering when these products will be in store? We’ve been told that they should be on shelves by September 28th (a little later than usual).

Updates

That’s all for now. We’ll be updating this post throughout this week with more news and sneak peeks. If you spot any of the Asda Halloween 2015 range in your stores be sure to let us know.

Like this Article? Share it!

About The Author

Mr Halloween is the founder of Halloweenerrific. He lives for Halloween and pretty much spends the whole year in a perpetual Halloween, preparing for that all important night when everyone else celebrates it too. He loves cobwebs, skeletons and UV lights. He hates cheap, poorly made Halloween products.

53 Comments

  1. Liam September 4, 2015 at 5:07 pm

    Is there going to be a big prop this year?

  2. sarah September 4, 2015 at 9:38 pm

    Asda three big inflatables seem very expensive,
    went to range and b&m today got some great Halloween items.

  3. Harry September 4, 2015 at 9:55 pm

    Hello, when can we expect to see the decorations in store and is there going to be any big props like life sizes?

  4. Liam September 4, 2015 at 10:01 pm

    check out my videos of some of the b and m props
    2014-https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Nn1KoB4lYLc

    2014 top 5-https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bLXRCka5QIM

    2015-https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=05G7LtJ6Ukg

  5. Jim September 5, 2015 at 1:10 pm

    £79.99 for an inflatable spider? I agree with Sarah, that is expensive! The neon light up ghost sounds interesting, but what ASDA need is a decent life sized prop. The last few years have been a let down.
    The make up sounds good. I do a haunted house walkthrough, and it will make a change to use stuff like that instead of masks.
    It will be interesting if the other supermarkets are going to make an effort this halloween?
    Thanks for all your hard work Mr Halloween

  6. Liam September 5, 2015 at 1:12 pm

    sorry if my links are not working but I will have one more attempt have

    2014- https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Nn1KoB4lYLc

    2014 top 5- https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bLXRCka5QIM

    2015- https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=05G7LtJ6Ukg

  7. Harry September 5, 2015 at 3:50 pm

    Will there be any life sizes or big props, as Asda said this is supposed to be their biggest year and if so they will have to beat 2009 and nine and any updates on when the products are going to be in store?

  8. daniel September 6, 2015 at 9:43 am

    http://www.gemmy.com/Animated_Crow_p/56868.htm
    Walmart GREAT BRITAIN….
    have you also seen asda is having a change, the logo now resembles the walmart one, maybe we’re getting a bigger halloween range because asda is becoming more like walmart, it’s parent company

  9. daniel September 6, 2015 at 9:47 am
  10. GRAVE RAVER September 8, 2015 at 4:00 pm

    When will the Video be Posted????????????????

  11. Joe September 8, 2015 at 9:59 pm

    https://party.asda.com/ShowProducts.aspx?PageId=1914

    Looks like asda are rolling out the Halloween goodies online. ????

  12. Harry September 10, 2015 at 2:02 pm

    31st street halloween is a new halloween store in the UK with 20 stores opening up this year instead of five which is what they had last year. They stock a load of life sizes. UK’s version of Spirit. Opening 15th September.

  13. Liam September 10, 2015 at 3:49 pm

    B & M are awesome this year check the website out
    http://www.bmstores.co.uk/search?q=halloween
    they have a 2.5ft butler, 2.5ft grave digger, crawling zombie and a 5ft newlydeads prop

  14. Batley September 12, 2015 at 10:05 am

    ASDA Halloween has declined every year since they dropped the large props (2010). A big prop is a HUGE loss.ASDA hype no longer does it for me. B&M, however, is brilliant, and the prices are very reasonable and more inline with the prices they pay in the states, IMO. So pleased they have the talking busts this year – they’ve been a YouTube favourite of my neices for years.

  15. Michael September 13, 2015 at 5:23 pm

    i have started using The Range for my Halloween stuff as they have some amazing things in, Asda been a let down past couple years, B&M also have a good selection but it’s The Range for me so if you have a store close by pop in and check them out.

    http://m.therange.co.uk/search?keywords=Halloween

  16. GRAVE RAVER September 13, 2015 at 5:36 pm

    Check out GRAVE RAVER on youtube. I have a video on The range and B&M bargains also a lot of previews featuring A few updates on asda.

  17. malcolm September 15, 2015 at 4:48 pm

    @harry
    If its like last years attempt then it will be useless
    It’s ran by the calendar club so be prepared to pay over the odds for pound shop items they trialled it last year in Nottingham and I was crap

    5ft skeletons usually £24.99 in most shops £49.99

    Tombstones nothing special £19

    Called in at asda yesterday and they said stock will be out at the end of the month once the students have gone back as that’s the area it goes in
    They have not received any stock as yet

    Another failed year at asd

  18. malcolm September 15, 2015 at 4:49 pm

    Sorry a spelling mistake
    My last comment was meant to read

    Another failed year at asda

  19. Sue September 17, 2015 at 7:06 pm

    I don’t have any urge to visit Asda whatsoever then 🙁 Asda used to a leader as far as Halloween goes, but it is being quickly taken over by every other store. Who on earth is advising them??

  20. malcolm September 17, 2015 at 7:12 pm

    Aye since they dropped the big props the range at asda has gone down hill year on year

    The year we bought Wanda witch from there was amazing now they seem to focus more on fancy dress

    But like you say sue thankfully other retailers have seen a gap and upped their game year in year

  21. Daniel September 28, 2015 at 2:42 pm

    Today’s the day

  22. malcolm September 28, 2015 at 4:36 pm

    save your self the time and hassle of going to asda
    its the same shit as last year with one or two extra’s

    same old groundbreaker zombie with light up eyes
    same old spooky telephone
    same old large 2d skull with light up eyes
    same old creepy hand
    same old lame ass party stuff

    new for this year inflatables
    windspinners
    and nearly twice as many costumes as last year

    asda have really lost the plot

  23. Harry September 28, 2015 at 9:28 pm

    Hello everyone,
    I have heard that ASDA have put out their smaller props first and that the bigger props are due in on the Tuesday the 29th of October!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  24. malcolm September 28, 2015 at 9:59 pm

    @ harry

    source ???

    everything on the website is in stores

  25. Harry September 29, 2015 at 5:53 am

    There is no halloween decorations on the Asda direct website?!?!?!

  26. malcolm September 29, 2015 at 6:08 am

    https://party.asda.com/ShowProducts.aspx?PageId=1914

    everything on that page is in my local asda

  27. Harry September 29, 2015 at 6:14 am

    What store is yours and where about’s? My store is a superstore and has none of that in!!!
    Asda needs a life size or a least 3 to 4ft character.

  28. malcolm September 29, 2015 at 6:51 am

    Both my Nottingham stores have these plus a shit load of costumes

    Also re the lifesize it will never happen again
    Asda after 2010 season dropped the large prop from the range and in 2012 season recorded the highest profits and sales for Halloween despite having no large igt ticket item to speak of

  29. Liam September 29, 2015 at 6:27 pm

    I wish asda brought back the 6ft butler and the phantom face ripper.

  30. Louise September 29, 2015 at 7:40 pm

    I’ve just seen that Aldi have got some cute 4ft inflatables for £12.99! Bargain!

  31. gaz September 30, 2015 at 7:34 am
  32. Mr Halloween October 1, 2015 at 8:18 pm

    Okay, so we were a bit let down by our family trip to the local Asda. They just didn’t have enough stuff out, and in particular none of the things we actually wanted to buy. Which is a pain considering it’s a bit of a drive and it’s October already!
    Popped into Aldi for their Halloween special and there were some decent things there. Inflatables looked fun.
    Still not sure where to go for some really good stuff this year though…

  33. Jim October 3, 2015 at 8:16 am

    I have just been to view the range at our local Asda, and I am feeling disappointed.
    If this is their idea of a ‘big year’ then they need to employ new buying agents.
    I like large props. It does not have to be animatronic, or six foot tall, but big enough to hang and give someone a fright. Asda has nothing!
    The Range and B&M have got a good selection in. At least they have made the effort. Their products are of a reasonable price too. Asda take note.

  34. daniel October 5, 2015 at 7:07 pm

    I think the my top 4 shops are
    B&m
    The range
    Wilko
    Aldi
    B&m is great, they have a very large selection of candy bowls and medium sized props on offer with a small price tag, same goes for the range, slightly bigger hanging props and large standing props, again, very good prices. Wilko has a large range of old grandin road props (by magic power koa) and have a 3ft animated witch this year for £40 and the haunted tic toc clock for £40 as well, a lot of medium props are on offer too, for example the haunted mirror and snappin’ Sam at £15 and a groaning ghost for £10. Aldi has a good rage this year too with the animated dancing coffin skeletons, the banjo playing skeleton, the dj skeleton all at £7.99 and a whole host of cool little 3 foot inflatables at just £12.99. Sainsburys seems to be slowly upping their game against too with the 3ft tall talking skeleton with a candy bowl for only £30, the same dj skeleton that aldi have for £12, and a couple of other animated props under £15. Asda seem to have a lot of gemmy props this year with the talking phone, eyeball doorbell and snakealabra for £10.

    I think the only reason we are disappointed with asda is because we know they can do better, but if you look at it this way, at least their range is better than last year.

    P.S if anyone knows or can find a website for the property company magic power (you know the company that makes all the 3 ft butlers I would be very grateful

    Thanks
    Dan

  35. daniel October 5, 2015 at 7:08 pm

    *for the prop company

  36. Harry October 9, 2015 at 1:00 pm

    He everyone,

    BIG NEWS!!!!!!
    Home Bargains have a 6ft hooded Reaper which is a reaper version to the hooded ghost that Spirit Halloween sell. Only for £40 pound!!!!!!

  37. Liam October 12, 2015 at 3:41 pm

    Hey guys I went the range on Saturday, they have a great Halloween selection. when I went I brought the 6ft witch and the 5ft waiter. Its a shame asda can’t put some life size props out

  38. Nick October 16, 2015 at 10:06 pm

    Little disappointed with the ASDA range this year. In fact I think all the supermarkets have been disappointing. The likes of B & M and The Range have been OK but the stand out winner has been T K maxx. I set myself a budget but they have had some cool, original and good quality items. I have spent way more than I planned. They started selling their range early and a lot of the best things have gone but they are still new and cool things hanging around. Get in there quick.

  39. Joe October 24, 2015 at 8:35 pm

    wheres the video?

  40. Frosty October 27, 2015 at 3:24 pm

    I’ve totally given up on Asda now.I’m lucky,i bought all the large animated figures over the years so can still rely on them.This year i’ve bought a hanging reaper with flashing eyes from the Range and a couple of other bits and bobs,nothing special though.I still love my smoking cauldron bought from Asda many moons ago,just wish i’d bought the spirit ball when they had them as they’re selling for silly money now.

  41. Daniel November 1, 2015 at 3:28 pm

    Just bought a cage of asdas halloween stuff that they were going to throw away, I’ll probably sell it next year, got some wingflatables and some crows along with the foam hair pieces and a lot of costumes and goblets and realign the holders

  42. Liam November 1, 2015 at 4:25 pm

    since asda have had nothing in the last couple of years I think I am gonna start getting some of the older stuff they sold which I never managed to pick up. As a starter I have ordered the phantom face ripper which is well better than all of the stuff that they have done in 2015

  43. Liam Dobbs August 21, 2016 at 11:07 am

    when will the asda halloween 2016 sneak preview be out?

  44. Eileen August 22, 2016 at 4:00 pm

    Hi guys! I have just found this! (Not sure how reliable it is tho) It’s a link to show what maybe in asda this year. I hope you don’t mind me sharing it.

    http://youtu.be/Rd0fCye6Xis

  45. Dan August 25, 2016 at 5:18 pm

    Hi, I’ve seen videos from this year of an animated trio of witches that costco sells over here, we don’t have any of them here in the mk costco yet, can anybody tell me if they’ve seen them in their nearest costco, much appriciated

  46. Haunted Skull August 26, 2016 at 6:37 pm

    i have already had some luck on getting props this year like i got phantom face ripper, heads up harry and the creepy rising doll

  47. Dan August 28, 2016 at 2:32 pm

    I just bought one of those life-sized animated witch props from costco and it is really really realistic it only cost £119 and she stirs the cauldron and moves her mouth and her eyes light up with two smaller witches that cackle, I think costco is the dark horse of halloween shops in the uk, they also have these massive 3ft talking pumpkins made of a sort of resin, for £30 and a full 5ft tall pose and stay skeleton with pirate clothing for £30. Very impressed with costco

    BRING ON HALLOWEEN 2016

  48. Mr Halloween August 28, 2016 at 2:42 pm

    Hi Everyone.

    We’re happy to announce that our Asda Halloween sneak preview for 2016 will go live later TONIGHT.

    Keep an eye on our social channels for a notification of when it’s published.

  49. Louise August 31, 2016 at 6:13 pm

    Haunted skull- where was the creepy rising doll and how much if you don’t mind me asking?

    We visited a b&m on Monday and they were starting to put out their Halloween stock.p

  50. Haunted Skull October 29, 2016 at 12:45 pm

    Hi Louise, I got my Creepy rising doll off ebay for about £201, hope this helps 🙂

Leave A Response

Leave a comment


SEO Powered By SEOPressor