Halloween-errific

Asda Halloween 2013 Sneak Preview

Mr Halloween August 19, 2013 Halloween Decorations 31 Comments

Seriously, How long have we been waiting to see a sneak peak of the Asda Halloween products for 2013?

Well, the anticipation here probably began sometime around November 1st 2012 and has been building steadily ever since.

I was just in a local Asda store the other day and found myself day dreaming about just how great it will look in a month or so when all the ghoulish goodies are out on display.

Well, so far we can confirm two important pieces of information:
One is that the products should be available online from 16th September and on shelves by 30th September.
And secondly… We have a little sneak preview of just some of the 2013 Asda Halloween products for you right now!

Asda Halloween 2013

It’s still early days, so how about we tell you what we know right now, then add more to the post as the information comes in? There will also be a bigger, fuller post at a later date with some more detailed information.
Right now we can confirm some of the smaller stuff but as ever, this preview is only going to be the tip of the iceberg.

It’s also worth saying that the prices stated below probably are subject to change.

Asda Halloween decorations for less

I know we all want to see the big fancy decorations right now, but the sensible part of me insists that I remember for a moment that there is a recession on.
With that in mind, Asda are offering some bargains as far as decorations are concerned.

Asda halloween pumpkin lantern

Pumpkin lantern £1

Asda halloween bunting

Happy Halloween bunting £1

Asda hanging bat

Hanging bat decoration £1

With the Halloween Pumpkin Lantern, the Happy Halloween Bunting and the Hanging Bat all coming in at a pound we’re talking pocket money prices.
Yes, you might get these kinds of products from other high street retailers, but would they offer the same quality as Asda products? They often don’t.

Hanging out

If dangling decorations are your thing, there are a few options available this year. Go for the bat if you want somewhere great to carry your treats or just go crazy with these other really reasonably priced swinging spooksters to add more abominable atmosphere to your shrieking shindig.

Asda halloween 2013

Dressing up

If you’re after a spooky look this Halloween Asda can help you out with some decent makeover materials at competitive prices.

Asda halloween makeup

Speaking from experience, the quality of the Asda Halloween make-up is good and for the price you really will be hard pressed to find sets better (quality-wise) than this for the money.

We’re looking forward to seeing what bigger offerings will be available where costumes are concerned.

What’s your poison?

If you’re looking for a fast way to present your normally mundane Halloween beverages, then look no further. These ‘poison’ drinks containers will add that element of mystery (and risk) to your drinks this year.

asda halloween poison

They’re perfectly suited to a witches brew (using the bucket as a couldron) or some toxic waste. Or of course, for the younger Halloweeners, any number of creepily coloured soft drinks. They’re a quick win to add a little atmosphere to any otherwise average drinks selection.

The light and soul of the party

We don’t have to go into the importance of Halloween lighting again now do we?
To make it clear, lighting plays a huge part in creating an atmosphere at Halloween, as it does with any other seasonal event. This is why it’s great that (it seems) there will be a range of products to cater for your a number of needs from candlelight to all out sparkling party lights.

asda halloween lights

Personally speaking, I’m looking forward to having a closer look at the bat lights as some of my favourite decorative lights burned out last year (boo hoo).

Boris is back!

You wondered which big prop Asda would be selling this year and we can confirm (at time of writing) that Boris is set to make a re-appearance for Halloween 2013.
But this guy isn’t to be confused with Boris from last year, or even the guy from a few years back. This butler looks to be more spooky and grotesque than ever (pictured left).

asda halloween 2013 boris

Unfortunately we’ll have to fill you in on what he can do and how much he will cost at a later date, but remember, you saw him here first!

Oh and that skinny, hungry looking guy to the right of him is Banjo Steve. You can expect him to offer some amusing, musical relief at your Halloween gathering. More details on him will follow soon too.

Buy Boris the Butler here
: Boris the Butler at Asda Direct

Buy Banjo Steve here: Banjo Steve at Asda Direct

Update – with video

Last week we finally got to see the Asda Halloween range up close at a press event. And as we couldn’t take ALL of you guys with us, we did the next best thing – we took a camera and did some filming.

So to re-empahsise what is said on the video, there don’t seem to be quite as many fancy decorations and props this year. That does make the crew at Halloweenerrific feel a little sad (you know how much we like foggers and inflatables). BUT there are a load of great costumes and lots of Halloween food items that not only look good, but also taste really good.

Asda Halloween Food 2013

All too often supermarkets re-brand their bland bakery products for Halloween, giving you something that looks cool, but ultimately doesn’t get eaten because it has no flavour. This isn’t the case with Asda’s food this year.

Update – More items spotted online

So the Asda Halloween items are now available from Asda Direct.
And after having a look at what’s on sale, we’ve noticed another couple of cool props that you might be interested in.

Skull Mister and Gruesome Giant Skull

You probably already know that we like things that give off mist and fog, so it was nice for us to see that Asda have again made a mist emitting prop available. The Skull Mister looks pretty much the same as the one that has appeared a couple of times over recent years. You add a little water, plug it into the mains and a clever little device inside will give off fog whilst shining pretty coloured lights, giving a very cool effect. I love my one which will be coming out for its third or fouth showing this Halloween.

The Gruesome Giant Skull looks to be little more than that – a great big skull. If you’re looking for a big prop to fill some space, this polystyrene skull should meet your requirements.
Both skulls are available online for £15.

asda skull mister halloween giant skull asda halloween

Buy the Skull Mister here: Skull Mister at Asda Direct

Buy the Gruesome Giant Skull here: Gruesome Giant Skull at Asda Direct

So there’s what we have so far. Keep checking back with Halloweenerrific for more Asda Halloween 2013 news as it breaks.

Like this Article? Share it!

About The Author

Mr Halloween is the founder of Halloweenerrific. He lives for Halloween and pretty much spends the whole year in a perpetual Halloween, preparing for that all important night when everyone else celebrates it too. He loves cobwebs, skeletons and UV lights. He hates cheap, poorly made Halloween products.

31 Comments

  1. Mrs Halloween August 25, 2013 at 7:31 am

    Thank you for this post I have been swinging by the last couple of weeks. Very exciting to see whats in store (excuse the pun ha!) from Asda this year. Loving the new plates and cup design I prefer it to the orange and black… because it looks more grown up as much as anything else lol – I think lots of adults have as much fun at Halloween, at parties etc. My pumpkins are growing nicely in the yard and im getting geared up for Halloween 2013 – hey, I think its going to be even spookier with it being 13′ booooooooooooo!

  2. Jim August 31, 2013 at 11:23 am

    Wilkos is also worth a look. They had a five foot talking skeletal grim reaper last year, and that great!
    They also had a good range of other halloween bits

  3. Mr Halloween August 31, 2013 at 12:10 pm

    I hear a lot of good things about the Halloween stuff at Wilkinsons but haven’t yet found a local store.
    We definitely need yo track one down and do a feature this year…

  4. Batley September 5, 2013 at 2:04 pm

    I can’t believe it’s this time of year already! It’s definitely an annual tradition of mine now (4th year) of visiting this site to build up anticipation to the big day! :p

    Boris ’13 is so much better than Boris ’12. He looks like Sainsbury’s Albert, I just hope his legs aren’t plastic sticks like the past few ‘big’ props have been like. It makes the prop feel cheap to me, lol.

    Excited to see what else they offer even though I’m running out of storage room, can’t resits some pieces ;).

    The range have some quite good animated pieces with reasonable prices.

    Also looking forward to Wilkos, although last years goods was basically a repeat of the year before (Enchanted Broom, Dropping Spider etc).

  5. malcolm September 9, 2013 at 7:31 pm

    gutted in a way
    i ordered from grandin road in the USA a pair of banjo skeletons that link together and have a banjo duel

    was hoping these would be unique in my haunt this year but now asda do something similar it cheapens it

    sounds harsh its not meant to be

    no one in our village does anything for halloween so our setup is unique

  6. Mr Halloween September 10, 2013 at 8:44 am

    Hi All,

    Thanks for your comments. Just to let you know we’ve just updated the post to include an exclusive video that shows you most of the things that you’ll be seeing at your local Asda store in the coming weeks.

    Batley> Boris did look good and better than the butler last year, but he’s still nowhere near live size and is more of a table prop than a standing one.

    Malcom> Sadly we didn’t see banjo steve at the event, so still don’t have the full details on what he can do or the quality of him.
    Duelling banjo playing skeletons sound very cool though. Any chance you could video them and send us a link when you’re all set up for Halloween?

  7. malcolm September 12, 2013 at 8:10 am
  8. Linnylou September 15, 2013 at 5:34 pm

    Really enjoyed that sneak preview,kind of disappointed though at the lack of props.I bought the butler last year and to be honest thought it was rubbish,the original Asda tall butler is by far the best.I keep hoping they will bring out another lifesize prop.As far as food is concerned,we tend to do spooky cocktails and then pizza,garlic bread etc,all the doughnuts and cupcakes seem to me to be aimed at kid’s parties and not really adults.

  9. Daniel September 19, 2013 at 2:40 pm

    some new info out guys about the prices of borris and steve they are both £50. also the asda Halloween stock is online now @ Asda Direct

  10. Mr Halloween September 19, 2013 at 3:25 pm

    Thanks for the extra info Daniel. We’ve added some updates to the page.
    Getting very excited about seeing the stuff in store now!

  11. Halloween is for Ryan September 20, 2013 at 5:54 am

    I can’t wait for halloween I love asda they always fill it with goulish tricks and treats for us to buy on my way home from highschool I stop in every day so I can really get in the halloween spirit and I am not joking asda takes your spirit and doubles it

  12. malcolm September 20, 2013 at 1:29 pm

    looks like all the halloween stuff is not fully online yet as only a handful of costumes are on the website so far

  13. Halloween for ryan September 21, 2013 at 9:59 am

    I have been doing some experiments for sine chilling drinks you can find all the ingredients in asda you will need lemonade ice cream (vannila) put half a pint glass with lemonade then put ice cream in only one scoop then use red or pink food coulering then you have your drink

  14. Daniel September 22, 2013 at 5:20 pm

    when will sainsburys and Tesco’s stuff be out? asda seems to be the only early starter to this year

  15. Daniel September 24, 2013 at 3:03 pm

    Tesco’s stuff is on its way its on the website and I was talking to a member of staff and they said it’ll be in next sunday to stores can’t wait

  16. mindy September 26, 2013 at 9:23 am

    Dissapointed that TK Maxx hasn’t got Halloween stock (as yet anyway ) this year? Usually by now they have lots of Halloween decoartions and ornaments on display. I aske In Poole branch and the guy said “maybe we are not getting any this year because we don’t sell it…..”

  17. daniel September 29, 2013 at 7:05 am

    well my tk maxx has a little bit of halloween stuff like witch hats and sweets themed around halloween but not much. Not as much as last year

  18. Andy October 2, 2013 at 2:11 pm

    Hmmmm My Asda has nothing out as of yet and doesn’t show any signs of spooking up any time soon… :(

  19. Mr Halloween October 2, 2013 at 2:23 pm

    Andy> Ha, it’s funny you should say that as I went to our local one yesterday.
    They had a couple of aisles with a few mixed bits out (you can see some videos on our Youtube channel here: http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL9ejnY5etLHCssc9gGviSh8i8BDHqN7Cx), but are obviously still in the process of stocking the shelves.

    It does wind me up a bit. Why say that the stuff will be on the shelves on a certain date when it seems to take at least a week longer for the whole lot to materialise…

  20. Mr Halloween October 2, 2013 at 2:24 pm

    Mindy & Daniel> We really need to check out TK Maxx and report on that.
    We have been in touch with Tesco, but have heard nothing back.

  21. Laura October 3, 2013 at 12:45 pm

    Hi,

    Can you tell me what song banjo Steve plays? I went to my local store and they didn’t have him. I am considering importing one that plays dixieland.

    Thanks

  22. Mr Halloween October 4, 2013 at 10:15 am

    Laura> We’d love to, but we’re still yet to see him in action. He wasn’t at the preview.
    However, it’s likely that we’ll be putting up a video of him in action next week.

  23. jack October 6, 2013 at 9:44 am

    not every thing that your showiing on here is in asda like boris and bongo steve

  24. Jim October 9, 2013 at 11:53 am

    I have to say that asda have really disappointed me this year. Their stock seems to be out later and later.The costumes are quite good, but the decorations I have seen have been quite bland.
    A few years ago they were really good but now it looks like they cannot be bothered. my local one had a 5 foot witch and a zombie torso for display purposes only! Its stuff like that they should be selling

  25. Kayleigh October 13, 2013 at 3:06 pm

    Is it me or does Halloween stock across the board seem to be very limited this year? I’m having a lot of trouble finding decent new items for my haunt, and whenever I find something good, it’s sold out! A lot of people have been buying props in bulk and then selling them at extortionate prices on eBay which is really mercenary and greedy in my opinion, but it definitely doesn’t help that the main supermarkets don’t appear to be as involved this year either.

    Really disappointed.

  26. Mr Halloween October 13, 2013 at 8:42 pm

    I totally understand where you guys are coming from.
    I paid another visit to my biggest local store yesterday (the other smaller ones had a pretty pittiful display – even though we’re well into October now).
    Although they had definitely put more stuff out, there was still no sign of Boris, Banjo Steve, or (more irritating for me) the lights and other bits that I was hoping to get.

    It could be that they’re pushing more of the focus of sales for Halloween stuff to ‘online’. Or it could just be that the stuff will be there eventually.
    Daniel’s Youtube link a few comments above proves that some stores have a load of the bigger things.

    Either way, it’s a shame that my annual Halloween hunts at Asda haven’t been as exciting, spooky or fruitful as I would have hoped.

  27. daniel October 31, 2013 at 2:53 pm

    I hope my link benefited everyone my Asda is the one in milton keynes if anyone was wondering and I bought borris not Steve yet. They are selling the display ones if anyone is interested I don’t know how much though thanks for the updates everyone and I strongly agree that there is not enough decorations or props this year.

  28. Daniel November 2, 2013 at 9:20 am

    I just bought the last banjo Steve from Asda Milton Keynes!!! The story is good though. I went in at around the 10th and asked what time I should come in to buy the display model they said 1 day after Halloween so on November 1st I went in and they said they’d sold the display model for £25.00 HALF PRICE and my heart sunk .Then they said to me that they had 3 TROLLIES worth of stuff from the Halloween isle that was REDUCED and if it was not sold SQUASHED AND DISPOSED OF !!! she said she knows there was no banjo Steve in any of the 3 trollies and I said to her that can you look for some other stuff like skulls and rats or other she came back 10 minutes later with a new and boxed BANJO STEVE!!! Then we went to scan him on the till and guess what it was still £50.00 D= so she called someone else on the radio and as they’d told me they would keep me the display model they’d give me the boxed one for £25.00 YAY. But I looked at Asda’s site today and Steve was on there for £25.00 down from £50.00 today . Lol. here’s the link to Steve he is £25.00

    http://direct.asda.com/ASDA-Animated-Banjo-Skeleton/001886584,default,pd.html?cgid=D23M3G3C7S1

  29. Daniel November 3, 2013 at 6:58 pm

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=twGNtokeQTs&feature=youtu.be
    A VIDEO I MADE THIS IS THE SOUNDTRACK TO THE BANJO SKELETON

Leave A Response

 
UA-17710551-2 
SEO Powered By SEOPressor