Halloween-errific

Asda Halloween 2012 Sneak Preview

I suppose you’re wondering what the Asda Halloween offerings will be this year? Good, because we are too!
Better still, we actually have some news on what you will be able to buy at your Asda for Halloween this year!

In truth, it is still a little early to tell you about everything that will go on sale, but we intend to update this post as we get further confirmation of other new and exciting Asda Halloween products, right up until they hit the shelves on October 1st.
Now, lets start with the big stuff.

Asda Halloween Party Pieces

This is what they’re calling the bigger stuff. The stuff that will be making a statement at your Halloween party this year.

Borris the Butler

Folling on from the previously successful large animated figures, Asda Halloween Borris the Butlerthis year Asda introduce Borris. He’s a funny looking little chap with green skin who holds a bowl ideal for those Halloween treats.
But don’t get too comfortable next to him, because when you least expect it, he’ll shuffle around the room, taking those snacks with him!

By the looks of it, he’ll be around the same height as the awesome witch from last year, which isn’t life-size, but a good size to give the kids a fright without terrifying them. The other good news is that it should retail for about £35 which isn’t half bad.

If you don’t fancy carrying Borris back from your local Asda store, you can buy him online at Asda Direct: Borris the Butler

Enchanted Broom

Joining Borris as a headliner is the enchanted broom which you may remember from last year’s selection. We can only guess that it’s popularity won it the right for a re-appearance this year. Who knows, it may even have some features.

Life sized Skeleton

Asda Halloween skeletonAnd if Borris isn’t big enough for you, then how about this life sized skeleton?
It even looks to come with this interesting costume for added authenticity. It’s likely to cause frights aplenty if you can find just the right place to put it.
Best of all, he’s amazing value for money, estimated to cost only £3! That’s almost too good to be true!

And following on with the Skeleton theme, why not pair him up with this guy…

Inflatable drinks coffin

Again, something that I think may have featured in last year’s collection, although I can’t be sure that it’s identical. This coffin shaped inflatable drinks cooler will keep those beverages chilled while the bony guy sitting inside will scare off any greedy fingers.

Asda Halloween drinks coffin

How chilled out is this guy?!

Pumpkin Mister Fog Maker

We say it year after year, but at Halloweenerrific, we LOVE foggers. pumpkin fogger mister halloween asdaThey are the cool props that have clever little foggin devices in that emmit spooky smoke (or water vapour) and look very, very cool.

Yet again Asda have sourced a great new design and this year it’s a pumpkin fogger that will be available in store.

If this little decorative prop gives off light in addition to mist, so it’ll make a great alternative to the conventional carved pumpkin (although you should always carve one too).

We’re not yet sure if it will be mains or battery powered, but in our experience it’s always a good idea to put the fogger on a surface that won’t be damaged by the moisture.

You can order your Pumpkin Mister Fog Maker right now at Asda Direct: Pumpkin Mister Fog Maker

Next up, how about something to wear at that party?



Asda Halloween Costumes

There are a hunch to choose from so here’s a very quick glimpse at the sort of adult costumes that you’ll be able to find at your local Asda store this year.

Asda Halloween costumes 2012

The wolfman and little red riding hood costumes both look to be crowd pleasers, and if you’re going to the party as a couple, they obviously make a great combination.
Best of all, they come in at just £12 each, which is pretty hard to match given that they do look to be of good quality.

If you fancy something more glamourus, there are some nice outfits for the fairer party goer out there as you can see with the ‘sexy witch’ and ‘sexy cat’ dresses. Those should sell for £15.

As for the kids – there are already some costumes on sale on the Asda site, so if you can’t wait to get one in store, you can check them out online now…

Link: Asda Halloween costumes for kids

Again, they look to be good value with plenty of creepy and cute costumes to choose from.

Halloween on a budget

Finally, in keeping with Asda’s ‘value’ pledge, there will be plenty of bargain decorations, treats and party essentials available for just £1.
These are great to put into a fiendish lucky dip, or can be used to pretty up the place if you don’t want to break the bank, and at the moment, who can afford to?!

Asda Halloween gifts

Is that it?!

That’s all we have for now, but we will be keeping this post updated with any other news that comes in. There are rumours of more feature pieces including inflatable props and other noisy, light-up decorations but we’ll have to wait just a little while longer for that.

So as ever, keep checking back with Halloweenerrific for more Asda Halloween news and other great Halloween ideas!

***We now have a new Asda Halloween landing area.***

Like this Article? Share it!

About The Author

Mr Halloween is the founder of Halloweenerrific. He lives for Halloween and pretty much spends the whole year in a perpetual Halloween, preparing for that all important night when everyone else celebrates it too. He loves cobwebs, skeletons and UV lights. He hates cheap, poorly made Halloween products.

38 Comments

  1. Amy king September 13, 2012 at 8:58 pm

    Fabulous news and well done on your inside info! Bit disappointed that there will be no lifesize again but if he wanders around then I’m well impressed with that! Please check out my blog as yours has really inspired me these last few years and I wanted to have a go! You will like the link to YouTube for our 2012 advert I think, I’m working on another blog at the moment until it hots up in the shops with Halloween! Happy Halloween soon be here, btw pound shop type places are already full of stuff b and ms being he best I’ve seen.

  2. Mr Halloween September 14, 2012 at 8:08 am

    Glad you liked it. It does look as if there won’t be any bigger props this year, but the high price of them in the past could have been a key factor in this – as people are generally spending less.
    As ever, we’ll be adding some video of the products here soon too.

    Excellent to hear about your blog. We’ll definitely check it out and add it to our Halloween links!

  3. Mrs B September 16, 2012 at 6:42 am

    Hi there just bookmarked your site, never seen it before but well done this is fab!!! I love Halloween!

  4. Amy king September 16, 2012 at 7:44 am

    Thankyou! I’m already getting hits! And I’ve linked you back! I’m off to Trafford centre home sense to spy their Halloween treats so will be blogging tonight!
    Everyone please fly by http://halloweeninhellton.wordpress.com/
    If you have enjoyed this amazing site!

  5. Mr Halloween September 16, 2012 at 6:24 pm

    Hi! We’re glad you like it and we always like new visitors.
    The site is currently undergoing a bit of renovation so we hope it won’t affect your reading pleasure.
    We have lots of exciting content lined up for the next few weeks. We can’t wait!

  6. Batley September 17, 2012 at 4:37 pm

    It’s my 3rd year of visiting this site and the countdown to Halloween doesn’t begin until you’ve posted the ASDA article!

    I’m very much looking forward to Boris.(Unlike previous props, I can’t find a youtube video, i’d like to see him in action.) I know money is tight for many but I really don’t see why they’ve stopped the lifesize props, if you browse eBay, the amount of bids and prices large props shows there is a demand for them. ASDA’s previous years’ lifesize props sell for over £100 now!

    Hoping for some more unique pieces, last year we had a Gothic Fountain, Enchanted Broom, Wandering Ghost etc. Excited! 🙂

  7. Hedwig September 18, 2012 at 5:01 am

    It’s that time of year again and i also love visiting this brilliant site i always look forward to all the posts from fellow Halloweener’s and get their verdicts on the asda products and the opinions of Mr Halloween himself, I am so glad i got Wanda witch from the 2010 collection in asda it’s a pity they haven’t brought back anymore lifesize props but mabe they will return some year, I look forward to this years offerings when they hit the shelves cant wait =)

  8. Mr Halloween September 18, 2012 at 9:11 am

    We’re very happy that you guys keep coming back, and we’re glad that we don’t disappoint.
    Since your comments, we’ve added the Pumpkin Mister above which looks pretty good (replaces last year’s Gothic Fountain).
    We’re still waiting confirmation on further products though…

  9. Batley September 18, 2012 at 3:22 pm

    I’ve never seen the pumpkin mister before! At first I thought it was just a mask. It looks rather cool indeed.( http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uTnqbFb4brM )

    Wilkinson’s have a skull mister for £15 which i’ve seen before. ( http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lurF6zyNf40 )

    If I remember correctly, ASDA Direct didn’t have the whole range of Halloween goodies on site last year, so hopefully like last year there will be a few more animated pieces.

    I’ve ordered Boris (I still can’t find him on YouTube, he must be a new prop..?) as I don’t want to miss out on him.

    No sign of Sainsbury’s range yet, I do hope they are bringing a 3ft prop too.

  10. Hedwig September 19, 2012 at 2:16 am

    The pumpkin mister looks cool i will deffo be getting one of these as one of my fav props is the skull fogger i got 2 years ago from ASDA the crystal ball fogger wasn’t as effective i thought but still looks good, I think your right about the price tag on the lifesize props with money being a bit tight nowadays but the smaller props are fine too.

  11. samhain September 19, 2012 at 7:42 am

    Excellent site! Asda halloween stock seem to be out later each year. I was informed in store at asda direct that their decorations would be out on september the 18th to coincide with their website, but now been told not tl next week!
    Well done on getting information on their products

  12. Mr Halloween September 19, 2012 at 8:09 am

    Curiously, last year the decorations went up at my local Asda, but only half of the stock was there. It took a further week for it all to appear.
    It looks like Borris is definitely going to be the biggest prop on sale.
    However, we are still awaiting confirmation on the inflatables… It sounds like it could be the ghost (as seen last year), pumpkin (which was also available last year I think) and a black cat…

  13. Hedwig September 19, 2012 at 3:39 pm

    I got one of the inflatable black cats last year for £5 when they were reducing the remaining stock a nice bargain i might add i might get the ghost or pumpkin inflatable this year and may i say i really love popping into this site i just love Halloween and it’s good to see so many others here feel the same =)

  14. Witchy September 21, 2012 at 12:51 am

    Just stumbled across this site for the first time and it’s great! Interesting products this year, can’t wait to see the full lot 🙂 I guess I get a bit excited a bit too early but I love Halloween and will be coming to this site again next year!

  15. Louise G September 22, 2012 at 9:34 pm

    Wow! Came across your site looking for ideas for Hallowe’en party at home (kids in the day, adults in the night) which is a novelty for me as we usually go out somewhere- as Hallowe’en is my birthday and I don’t like sharing my sweets with trick-or-treaters lol!! (Not really, they get loads!) I want to do as much as I can within a financial limit of course but I’m going to get the kids to decorate the house and generally go nuts with it all! Will be visiting your sit regularly over the next month for more ideas!! 😉

  16. Batley September 22, 2012 at 11:04 pm

    Boris can’t shuffle around the room, he has no legs 🙁 His body (minus the head of course) seem cheaply made. His catchphrases are good, and how he moves his mouth. It would of been nice for his eyes to light up, last years mini prop lacked that too. Despite his faults, he’s a great prop and unlike Wanda witch he doesn’t take up much storage space and he’s the right height for the average Trick or Treater. 🙂

    You can hear his catchphrases here:
    ( http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NGpdN5pOpLc )

  17. Ben September 23, 2012 at 4:42 pm

    Nice site, love Halloween and have done since the 80’s. THe Halloween stuff is much better these days (it was plastic masks with wolly hair). However I think it the last 3 years its not been as good. We go the Butler 4 years ago and he goes up every year. Wish I had got the Witch but we did not think much of her, but they have gotten worse.

  18. Mr Halloween September 24, 2012 at 10:13 am

    I do feel that Asda might have become a bit complacent with their choices. They’re firm favourites for quality Halloween goods in the UK, but do need to keep things interesting for their customers.
    The life sized prop thing is an issue, especially when you see some of the cool things you can buy elsewhere (particularly from the US).
    The issues are (probably) keeping them at a reasonable price and finding something that isn’t too terrifying – a lot of the life sized props are pretty scary! 🙂

  19. Hedwig September 24, 2012 at 2:12 pm

    Your right about the life size props i also feel asda have slipped a bit and need to bring some new prop ideas from overseas especially since they are owned by wallmart i feel they could do better like when they brought us the butler and wanda i thought it would be the start of a continuing line every year, i have been coming across some brilliant props online during searches and one caught my attention she is based on the little girl from Poltergeist called the kneeling geist girl check it out and see what you think she is available on amazon uk and theres online vids but i don’t know how to post vids or pics on here.

  20. Mr Halloween September 24, 2012 at 2:26 pm

    You should just be able to post video links like this:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZLCQBanbPaU

    I saw that prop on Spirit Halloween and thought that it looked cool… Though maybe a bit too gruesome for Asda…

  21. Batley September 24, 2012 at 7:16 pm

    I love the witch prop in the style of wanda that mixes a smoking cauldron. Way too expensive to import anything these days though 🙁

    I’m still hoping they will offer some inflatable goods this year. Gemmy have some amazing ones. (Horse and cart one my favourite..)

    Maybe a petition directed at ASDA for a larger prop for Halloween 2013 would help sway their decision lol.

    I know this is an ASDA post but as it’s the busiest it’s worth mentioning that Sainsbury’s are putting their items out now. My local was clearing the shelves and they said they was putting the Halloween out later today. I’ll get a family member to pop in this week as I’m unable to until the weekend. Fingers crossed for something new and exciting…

  22. Joanne Macauley September 26, 2012 at 5:29 am

    Hi, just discovered your great site. I am attempting to make my own props to keep cost down. First attempt is a paper mache skeleton/zombie. Just started the first layer of paper, going ok. There are great YouTube videos on this.I am so pleased there are other folk out there as daft as me for Halloween.

  23. Hedwig September 26, 2012 at 3:44 pm

    I reckon you should start a photo gallery on here for everyone to share their Halloween pics as it’s the place to be and im sure it would attract even more visitors to the site and we could even share recipe ideas and such what do you think =).

  24. Mr Halloween September 27, 2012 at 10:13 am

    That would be a great idea.
    What we ideally need is a forum.
    We’re currently redeveloping the site at the moment (as you may be able to tell) and will definitely look to add these features.
    In the meantime, the Flickr group should work for photos at least. Let us know if you have problems accessing it.

  25. Mr Halloween September 28, 2012 at 9:25 am

    Further to the comments about photos. We’re now going to add a Halloween decorations gallery on the site for you to submit your photos to.
    Expect a post about it shortly! Thanks guys!

  26. Hedwig September 28, 2012 at 9:15 pm

    That’s brilliant news Mr Halloween im sure those who visit this site will love the idea i for one certainly will, I was asking in my local asda when the Halloween stock is making an appearance and was told all asda stores won’t put stock out until the 1st of October a little later this year and my first purchase will defffo be the Pumpkin Fogger =)

  27. Mr Halloween October 3, 2012 at 9:01 am

    Hi All.

    As per your marvelleous suggestion, our Halloween photo gallery is now live.
    Please feel free to send us your pics!
    http://halloweenerrific.co.uk/gallery/halloween-photos-2

  28. Mr Halloween October 3, 2012 at 9:02 am

    Hoping to finally get down to the local Asda tonight. Will report back! 🙂

  29. Frosty October 7, 2012 at 2:31 pm

    Hi,i’ve had real trouble finding you this year for some reason.Anyway,love your round up of Asda’s offerings,will definately be buying Boris this pay day,although their original butler is still my favourite,far better than Wanda in my opinion as her music whilst speaking annoys me.Will check out the pumpkin mister too,i have their cauldron one from a few years back which is fun but makes a bit of a mess.Anyway,keep it coming,fab website xx

  30. Mr Halloween October 8, 2012 at 3:02 pm

    Hi Frosty,

    Sorry to hear that you’ve had trouble finding us. We’re currently working on improving the site and this should mean that in future, we’ll be a lot easier to find!

    I finally made it to our local Asda store the other day, ready to get some great video to share with you all. But guess what… It was REALLY disappointing.

    I’m not sure if there is still more stock waiting to go out, but I couldn’t actually see anything worth reporting on.
    This is a first for me.

  31. Frosty October 8, 2012 at 4:06 pm

    Snap,we made our annual much anticipated trip to Asda and were very disappointed,i think the range and quality of their Halloween stock is very poor compared with previous years.There were no Boris the butlers or pumpkin foggers,noone to ask about this so i will end up ordering online but would like to have seen the products in the flesh so to speak.Tons of party ware and balloons,quite liked the hanging bride and groom,purchased a skeleton garland and little tombstone but have to say not impressed.Such a shame as Asda has had some really great items in the past,but i was really hoping for another lifesize Gemmy prop,especially the witch stirring the cauldron,was hopeful after they brought Wanda out but last year’s witch was a let down.

  32. Hedwig October 8, 2012 at 4:52 pm

    Same here i couldn’t see anything and there was no pumpkin mister either i asked some staff and was told there was more to come in but a few days later i asked one of the managers and was informed that was the lot and if any item wasn’t there then it never will i was a bit miffed to be honest there was more novelty items than main ones.

  33. Amy king October 10, 2012 at 3:29 pm

    Worst year ever for asda! I spent a tiny £30 which is a fraction of what I normally spend! Not even any inflatables like last year! I bought the large skull for £15 which I’m pleased with and a fab nightmare before Christmas costume for my daughter I also liked the flelt door hangers as there were cheap but look good on the kids doors. The last two years have not been great for exciting props. I’m so glad I spent a fortune a few years back and got all the inflatables, lifesize butler and witches and all the animated ghosts,, now it’s all too expensive and no where near as good or scary! Can only think when halloween falls on the weekend again we might see a bit more of what was about in 2006/09. Happy halloween everybody!

  34. Frosty October 13, 2012 at 4:24 pm

    Hi me again.Went to the largest Asda in my area today to try and purchase a Borus,spell book,skull candlesticks,owl,crows and pumpkin mister.Not one item was stocked,it was full of tacky child like decorations,sweets and costumes,i was NOT impressed and decided not to give Asda my business this year.Popped into the Tesco Homeplus store and was pleasantly surprised……a spooky aisle decked out accordingly,animated props including a hanging,shaking mummy,lots of severed arms etc,picked up quite a few bits.By the way,Sainsburys are doing a light up witch’s head,not very big at all,but worth a look x

  35. Mr Halloween October 29, 2012 at 1:00 pm

    We finally got around to testing some of the Asda Halloween products. The post and video may help you with any last shopping decisions:
    http://halloweenerrific.co.uk/halloween-decorations/asda-halloween-roundup-2012

    Also, there’s a voucher code for £5 off Boris the Butler!

  36. Frosty October 29, 2012 at 10:45 pm

    Well,i got a Boris,think his face and hands are excellent quality but he’s let down by cheap looking clothng.Really disppointed with Asda this year.I know people are generally spending less but Halloween is still growing in popularity and a lot of people throw parties.

  37. Hedwig October 31, 2012 at 3:25 pm

    Happy Halloween to all at Halloweenerrific and all my fellow Halloween fans have a great night everybody =).

Leave A Response

 

UA-17710551-2 
SEO Powered By SEOPressor